So Deborah asked, “When a series is finished, how do you pull yourself away from the set of characters? Is it difficult?”

work work work

work work work

SW:

It’s not hard to turn away from a series of characters provided I have a new story on the horizon. I do still think about past characters, though, thanks to my readers. It’s the readers who remind me about intriguing secondary characters in past books. “What about Rory and Belinda in the Calhoun Chronicles?” they ask. “And Phoebe Palmer of the Chicago Fire series?” A lot of people want a sequel to The You I Never Knew or Home Before Dark.

I think my most-requested sequel might be a followup for my last three hardcovers–Just Breathe, The Ocean Between Us or Table for Five. This makes sense, since these are mainstream books with a sizeable cast of secondary characters and storylines. Readers tend to get involved and invested in the story, and it seems natural for them to want to see things play out. I love that about readers. Now I’ve wandered away from the question. Sorry.

I’m trying to think of a series of books I loved that had a great photo-finish and left me completely satisfied. Hmmm. Anyone?