I met the love of my life when I least expected it. I was done with men, I’d raised a fine daughter and was ready to enjoy thefreedom of singlehood. Then Jerry came riding into my world on a mountain bike one sunny afternoon. He made margaritas and guacamole. We took a trip to Hong Kong, got matching tattoos at a divey parlor in Wanchai, and decided to put our lives together.
Jerry and Susan anniversary at Canlis susanjerrybooth-162
The thing about falling in love when you’re older than dirt is that you get to have any wedding you want. Couture dress made by your bridegroom? Check. Wedding feast by a famous chef? Check. Eighties cover band for dancing? Vintage getaway car? Check.
We had it all in the bag. Then we looked out at the terrace of our wedding garden and saw this. The local art house movie theatre had put our names on the marquis.
Wishing you all your very own happily ever after,