So I wound up the Book Brahmin interview with two more fun little queries:

Favorite line from a book:

“Reader, I married him.”

 

kick-ass writer

kick-ass writer

From Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. If you don’t burst into tears when you get to that line, you’re made of stone. 

 

Runners up:

  • “In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.”
  • “Shoot all the blue jays you want, if you can hit ’em, but remember, it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”
  • “Thar she blows! A hump like a snowhill. ‘Tis Moby Dick.”

Can you tell I have a taste for melodrama?

Your turn–what’s your favorite line from a book? 

And finally…

Book you most want to read again for the first time: The Ginger Man by J.P. Donleavy. I sneaked my mother’s copy and read it with my jaw on the floor. A story of a naughty man doing naughty things, told with such originality and playfulness with the language that I feel like reading it again right now. 

What book would you like to read for the first time again?