Harriet rocks!

Harriet rocks!

In my Book Brahmin interview, I was only allowed to list one, but I had an ever-changing array as I grew. 

 

 

Favorite book when you were a child:

SW: Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh. I slept with it under my pillow so I could channel Harriet, and started carrying a notebook everywhere I went. I still do that. 

Note: Please do not see the movie! It ruins the book. Movies have a nasty habit of doing that, except in certain cases, like The Wizard of Oz.

Other contenders for my favorites:

  • You Were Princess Last Time – Long out of print; don’t recall the author
  • Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White – probably the most flawless book ever written
  • The Watchbirds – another out of print, an author/illustrator I can’t recall

So many more. But I’ll shut up. List your childhood faves in Comments.