(image from wikimedia commons)

(image from wikimedia commons)

Someone has gone to a lot of trouble to post nasty reviews on Amazon. The same person used 4 (and counting) different names to give poor Fireside 4 low ratings. I’m very flattered by the attention!

Three of her fake personae were invented just to trash Fireside. The other has posted nasty reviews for Madeleine Albright, Condoleeza Rice, Bill Clinton, labor unions and Democrats in America. She pretty much hates everything except self-aggrandizing, right-wing memoirs. She probably hates puppies and angel food cake, too.

When people go to that much trouble to be negative, you have to feel sorry for them. This person clearly has personal issues. Also, she didn’t actually read the book, or she would have seen where the storyline went–in an unexpected direction. AJ’s story in Fireside is just something that happened, it’s fiction based on a real situation, like everything else in a novel. It plays into the themes of family, commitment and loyalty, which I love to explore in my fiction.

I don’t need for everyone to love my books, and I have the e-mail to prove it. So I won’t be asking Amazon to remove the review-bombs. Besides, controversy sells books. Just ask President Obama. 🙂

I can’t wait to hear what this one-star bomber thinks of the people of Avalon saving the public library in the next book! PS: She might be my good luck charm, bringing all this attention to my book. It’s currently #1 on the New York Times bestseller list.