I swear, people, I am the kiss of death when it comes to TV shows. The grim reaper of prime time. The minute I get interested in a program, it gets canceled. I no sooner get into a show than they give it the ax. It almost never fails. Latest ratings roadkill: Pushing Daisies, Eli Stone, Dirty Sexy Money.

Anna Friel as Chuck on Pushing Daisies

Anna Friel as Chuck on Pushing Daisies

It ticks me off because I found these shows engaging, with lovely touches of originality and heart. How can you not love a show with characters named Olive Snook? And Chuck’s wardrobe on Pushing Daisies–don’t get me started!

Eli had me the moment I saw him carrying around his dead father’s ashes in a “Chock Full o’ Nuts” coffee can. I could relate to him because as a writer, I pay close attention to the voices inside my head.

And Dirty Sexy Money…It’s just very frank. The title says it all. Don’t look for the Waltons here. Sigh. Don’t look for it at all, because according to sources, it’s history.

There is an up side! Turning off the TV leaves more time to read. And a book can never be canceled. Overdue at the library, yes. Canceled, no.