My novels do, anyway. These are songs I play to evoke a mood, a memory or simply to give myself a rhythm to write to.

Here are some of the songs on my Just Breathe playlist. Lots of road songs. Whether you like to play music while reading or writing, or if you simply like to relax and listen–enjoy!

“Breathe 2AM,” Anna Nalick. This inspired the title and set the mood for the entire book. Incredible song by a young woman with an old and shining soul.

And a few others…

I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing,” Aerosmith
“Unchained Melody,” The Righteous Brothers
Crazy For You,” Madonna
“Never Tear Us Apart,” INXS
In Your Eyes” Peter Gabriel
“Love Song,” The Cure
“Eternal Flame,” The Bangles
Come On,” Ben Jelen
“Fade Into You,” Mazzy Star
Faithfully,” Journey
Ruby Tuesday” and “Painted Black,” The Rolling Stones
“I’ll Be There For You,” Bon Jovi
Drive,” The Cars
Babe,” Styx
Save a Prayer,” Duran Duran

And okay, while looking up the links for these songs, I came across this shot of Journey in their parachute pants. Submitted without comment:

Lets hear it for parachute pants!

Let's hear it for parachute pants!