You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 10, 2007.

Pear tartI have a tart pan! I love that I have a tart pan! Here’s a recipe I adapted from Real Simple Magazine.  

1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1 cup flour
2 Bosc pears, peeled and sliced

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1-1/2 tablespoons demerara or turbinado sugar (plain white will work, too)
1/2 cup apricot jam
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Heat oven to 350° F. Spray a fluted tart pan with nonstick spray. Cream the butter and 1/2 cup sugar Add the egg, and beat until incorporated. Gradually add the flour and baking powder until fully incorporated. Press the dough into the pan with floured fingers to form an even crust. Arrange the pear halves, top to bottom, cut-side down. Combine cinnamon and demerara (coarse-grained) sugar and sprinkle over tart. Bake until the crust is golden brown, about 45 minutes. While the tart is cooling, warm the apricot jam and lemon juice in a small saucepan over low heat until melted. Brush gently over the entire tart. Serve at room temperature.

Join me on Facebook. You won’t be sorry.

I tend to spontaneously give stuff away to readers and libraries. Join the fun here. Really.

ask me anything anonymously

...on my FORMSPRING page...just remember, I'm a fiction writer.

take a look at a book

Buy or borrow my books at WorldCat.org.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Enter title, subject or author
WorldCat.org >>

Blog Stats

  • 709,359 hits

Pages

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,482 other followers