You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 7, 2007.

Someone on my message board was asking about the torrential rains and wind in this corner of the world.

Scanoe full o’ water

I think the boating is on hold for a while.

I’m all about keeping it simple this holiday season. As my girlfriend J.F. says, “If it ain’t eating or shopping, I’m not doing it.” According to something I read–I think this was on Unclutterer–you can create a lovely holiday atmosphere in your home without hauling out six generations of Christmas tchotchkes and gee-gaws. Simply put out some fresh greenery (that way you can compost it rather than store it on Boxing Day) and put some Christmas music on the stereo, and that’s all you need. My advice–put up the tree and light a scented candle, too. Once you’ve done that, your house will scream “Christmas” and people will feel good just hanging out with you.

tangled lights displayOne more tip–don’t even try to untangle the light strings. Mine came out of storage all wadded up, so I threw them on the ground and plugged them in and parked a bunch of poinsettias around them. (There’s a rebar sculpture by our front door; that’s what those vertical bars are.) My Inner Martha is extremely lazy. But having fun.

Okay, holiday season. I’m ready. Bring it!

what’s on my mind right now:

Join me on Facebook. You won’t be sorry.

I tend to spontaneously give stuff away to readers and libraries. Join the fun here. Really.

ask me anything anonymously

...on my FORMSPRING page...just remember, I'm a fiction writer.

take a look at a book

Buy or borrow my books at WorldCat.org.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Enter title, subject or author
WorldCat.org >>

Blog Stats

  • 706,308 hits

Pages

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,456 other followers